It’s All Fun and Games Until…


It was all fun and games for former NRL players Ben Roarty and Danny Williams until one of them nearly lost an eye and both of them earned a nomination for The Frownlow Medal Hall of Fame.

The Frownlow Medal is awarded to the player whose off-field demeanour epitomises the values of the modern day footballer and draws attention to the status of footballers as role models to young Australians. It covers Australia’s four major football codes; the National Rugby League (NRL), Australian Football League (AFL), the A-League (Football) and Rugby Union’s Super Rugby competition. Kiwi international Shaun Kenny-Dowall won the inaugural medal in 2015 before Corey Norman in 2016 and Tim Simona in 2017.

The Frownlow Medal Hall of Fame honours former players and players who received media attention in previous seasons, for similarly scandalous behaviour, and its inductees include Ben Cousins and Julian O’Neill.

The Melbourne Storm players were fooling around after a few coldies on an end of season trip to Hawaii in 2001 when the rumbling escalated and Roarty ended up with 30 stitches under his eye.

Fans are eagerly awaiting their reunion at the awards night for The Frownlow Medal Hall of Fame where they will go head to head with some of Australia’s greatest footballers, whose exploits can be seen at



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: