Damian Keogh Nominated for The Frownlow Medal.


Cronulla Sharks Chairman Damian Keogh has become the first football club boss to be nominated for The Frownlow Medal after being arrested for possession of illicit drugs.

The former Olympic basketball player was charged with possession of an illegal substance and was forced to stand down as Cronulla Chairman.

The Frownlow Medal is awarded to the player whose off-field demeanour epitomises the values of the modern day footballer and draws attention to the status of footballers as role models to young Australians. It covers Australia’s four major football codes; the National Rugby League (NRL), Australian Football League (AFL), the A-League (Football) and Rugby Union’s Super Rugby competition. Kiwi international and Sydney Roosters player Shaun Kenny-Dowall won the inaugural medal in 2015, while Corey Norman from the Parramatta Eels won in 2016.

Coaches, WAGS, a mystery penis and Grant Hackett have all been nominated for Frownlow honours, but never a club chairman – not even Eddie McGuire.

The charge comes just moments after 2015 Frownlow Medal winner, Shaun Kenny-Dowall, was also arrested for possession of an illegal substance, and a day before Jessie Bromwich and Kevin Proctor consoled themselves with drugs after the ANZAC Test.

The 2017 winner of The Frownlow Medal will be announced later in the year.

Image: Nuna


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: